

2009 ALLSTATE SUGAR BOWL NOTES

Sugar Bowl Turns 75: Friday night's game celebrates the Allstate Sugar Bowl's 75th anniversary. The first televised edition of the game was the 1953 contest between Georgia Tech and Ole Miss. The game played its first 40 contests outdoors at Tulane Stadium before moving to the Superdome for the 1975 contest between Alabama and Penn State.

National Champions Play Here: In its 75-year history, the Sugar Bowl has hosted 22 national championship teams – more than any other bowl.

Heisman Winners do too: A total of 14 Heisman Trophy winners have played in the Sugar Bowl.

High Rankings: This year's Sugar Bowl marked the first time since 1988 (Auburn vs. Syracuse) that two teams ranked in the top six in the nation met in a non-national championship Sugar Bowl.

Record Appearance: Tonight's game marks the 13th all-time Sugar Bowl appearance by Alabama. The Crimson Tide's 13 appearances are a record for a single school (tied with LSU). With tonight's loss, Alabama is now 8-5 in Sugar Bowl games.

Return Trip: The 2009 Sugar Bowl marks Alabama's first appearance in the Sugar Bowl since the 1993 game, when it captured the National Championship with a win over Miami.

Debut Performance: Utah is making its first-ever appearance in the Sugar Bowl. It is also the first appearance in the game by a team which is currently in the Mountain West Conference since 1971, when Air Force lost to Tennessee.

Back in the BCS: Utah is the first school from a non-automatic qualifying conference to play in two BCS bowl games. The Utes defeated Pittsburgh in the 2005 Fiesta Bowl to complete an undefeated 12-0 season.

Back in the BCS, part 2: Alabama is making its second appearance in a BCS bowl game, having lost an overtime decision to Michigan in the 2000 Orange Bowl.

Rolling Out the Welcome Mat: This year's contest between Alabama and Utah marks the second straight Sugar Bowl to feature a team from a non-automatic qualifying conference. Last year's game saw Georgia defeat Hawaii, 41-10. The Sugar Bowl joins the Fiesta Bowl as the only two BCS bowls to host two teams from non-automatic qualifying conferences. The Fiesta hosted Utah in 2005 and Boise State in 2007.

Game Notes

With Utah's win, the team that has scored first has won eight straight Sugar Bowls and nine of the last 10. The last team to score first and go on to lose was Florida, who lost to Miami in the 2001 edition of the game.

Overall, the team that has scored first is 49-25-1 in the Sugar Bowl.

With Utah's win, the Mountain West Conference moves to a perfect 2-0 in BCS bowl games – the top record among all conferences. The conference's other win was also a Utah victory, coming against Pittsburgh in the 2005 Fiesta Bowl. With Alabama's loss, the SEC drops to 11-5 all time in BCS bowl games.

Utah won the 2009 Sugar Bowl with just 13 yards rushing. The last time the Sugar Bowl's winning team rushed for fewer than 100 yards came in the 2000 game when Florida State defeated Virginia Tech despite having just 30 yards rushing.

The 2009 Sugar Bowl marks the first Sugar Bowl where both teams had fewer than 100 yards rushing since the Jan. 1, 1995 contest between Florida State (76 yards rushing) and Florida (five yards rushing).

Utah is the first team to complete an undefeated season with a win in the Sugar Bowl since Auburn finished 13-0 after defeating Virginia Tech in the 2005 Sugar Bowl.

With their win in the 2009 Sugar Bowl, Utah moves into a tie for second place in all-time BCS bowl game winning percentage with a 2-0 record, joining Texas (still to play a BCS game this year), Wisconsin and West Virginia. Only LSU, at 4-0, has more BCS bowl wins without a loss.

Utah's Brian Johnson had 336 yards passing, the most passing yards in a Sugar Bowl since LSU's JaMarcus Russell had 332 in the 2007 game against Notre Dame. His three touchdown passes were the most since Georgia's DJ Shockley also had three in the 2006 game against West Virginia. The three TD passes are one shy of the Sugar Bowl record of four shared by Florida State's Chris Weinke (2000 vs. Virginia Tech) and Illinois' Kurt Kittner (2002 vs. LSU).

Utah's Stevenson Sylvester tied a BCS bowl record with three sacks against Alabama. The last person to record three sacks in a BCS bowl was USC's Rey Maualuga against Illinois in the 2008 Rose Bowl.

Utah's Freddie Brown had 125 yards receiving, the most in a Sugar Bowl since Virginia Tech's Josh Morgan had 126 receiving yards against Auburn in the 2005 Sugar Bowl.

Leigh Tiffin's 52-yard field goal for Alabama to start the second quarter tied for the longest-ever field goal in a BCS bowl game. Georgia's Brandon Coutu had a 52-yarder against Hawaii in last year's Sugar Bowl. Tiffin's kick was one yard short of the Sugar Bowl record, which was a 53-yarder by Oklahoma's John Carroll in the 1972 Sugar Bowl.

Javier Arenas' 73-yard punt return for an Alabama touchdown in the second quarter was the first punt return for a TD since Florida State's Peter Warrick scored on a 59-yard punt return against Virginia Tech in the 2000 Sugar Bowl. Arenas' touchdown was the longest punt return for a TD in the Sugar Bowl since Miami's Kevin Williams scored on a 78-yard punt return in the 1993 Sugar Bowl.